Spokane Area Trauma Center Information

After a serious automobile accident, stroke, heart attack, or other traumatic injury, people are often rushed to on of the area Emergency Department or a Trauma Center. Below you will find information about the Emergency Departments and Trauma Centers in and around Spokane and Spokane Valley.

What is a trauma?

A trauma is a serious bodily injury, or sudden injuries that require medical attention immediately. Common types of traumatic injuries are traumatic brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, skull fractures, and burn injuries. In our area, most trauma is the result of a car accident.

What is a Trauma Center?

In the Spokane area, Trauma Centers receive their designations by Washington State Department of Health, which designates five levels of acute care trauma services, three levels of pediatric acute care trauma services and three levels of trauma rehabilitation services. Hospitals apply and compete for trauma service designation every three years.

Here is a list of the types of trauma centers, excluding the rehabilitation service types:

  • Level I Trauma Centers
  • Level II Trauma Centers
  • Level III Trauma Centers
  • Level IV Trauma Centers
  • Level V Trauma Centers
  • Level I Pediatric Trauma Centers
  • Level II Pediatric Trauma Centers
  • Level III Pediatric Trauma Centers

Trauma Centers have the personnel and equipment necessary to care for trauma patients. This includes emergency department and specially trained health care providers at trauma.

Trauma service standards vary. For a complete list, see WAC 246-976-700.

Washington State EMS and Trauma Care Regions

To get patients to the closest provider, there are 8 “regions” in Washington. They are Northwest, West, Southwest, North, Central, South Central, North Central and East.

We are located in Spokane, which is in the East region. The East region contains these counties: Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Garfield and Asotin.

Trauma Centers in and around Spokane:

Note: Emergency department designations were current as of December 2016.

Sacred Heart Medical Center
Emergency Dept: Level II Truama Center
Emergency Dept: Level II Pediatric Truama Center
Also known as “Sacred Heart”, or “Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center and Children’s Hospital”, this hospital offers the regions only pediatric Level II Trauma Center.

Deaconess Hospital
Emergency Dept: Level III Truama Center

Providence Holy Family Hospital
Emergency Dept: Level III Truama Center

Do you visit injured clients at hospitals?

As personal injury attorneys, we meet with a wide variety of clients. In many cases, to preserve evidence it is necessary to meet clients at their earliest availability. Sometimes this includes visiting in their home or at the hospital.

Get in Touch with Us
Discuss your case with an expert

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

*We will get in touch once we review your submission.