509.926.4900
Serving Spokane Since 1948

A two-car crash in Spokane sent one passenger and one driver to the hospital on October 20, 2018.

According to KREM-2, this crash happened at 11AM on South Regal Street. Allegedly, a Corvette smashed into a Saturn SUV head-on at the 5200 block.

When first-responders arrived on the scene they transported a passenger in the Corvette and the driver of the SUV to the hospital. The driver of the Corvette apparently fled the scene after the collision.

Thankfully, doctors believe both crash victims will survive their injuries. Spokane Police were also able to find the Corvette driver and are now investigating the cause of this crash.

Hit-And-Run Penalties In Washington State

Anyone involved in a car crash in the Evergreen State is urged to remain on the scene, call 911, and exchange insurance & contact information with everyone involved. Drivers who flee the site of a crash could be charged with hit-and-run under the Revised Code of Washington (RCW).

Hit-and-run cases are split into two major groups: attended and unattended. Attended hit-and-runs are more serious because they occur when a driver strikes another person and flees the scene. Unattended hit-and-runs, however, involve damaging property such as unoccupied cars or homes.

Depending on the severity of the attended hit-and-run, drivers could be charged with as high as a Class B Felony or as low as a gross misdemeanor. Class B Felonies carry a maximum of 10 years jail time and a $20,000 fine whereas gross misdemeanors could result in as much as 364 days in prison and a maximum of $5,000 in fines.

Unattended hit-and-runs, on the other hand, are usually classified as simple misdemeanors. People convicted of this crime usually have to spend no more than 90 days in jail and face a fine no higher than $1,000.

To read Washington State’s hit-and-run policies in full, please check out RCW 46.52.010 and RCW 46.52.020 online. You can also find out how to file a collision report on this webpage put together by the Washington State Department of Licensing.

Involved In A Hit-And-Run? Call CCD Law

Sadly, hit-and-run collisions are on the rise all across America. If you’re unfortunate enough to get involved in one of these crashes, then you should know that Crary, Clark, Domanico & Chuang, PS can help.

Over the years, CCD Law has helped many passengers and drivers injured in hit-and-runs. Our lawyers are also experienced with assisting pedestrians, bicyclists, and motorcyclists who were hurt in hit-and-run crashes.

Don’t let the insurance companies intimidate you into settling for less than you deserve. One call to CCD Law will help you better understand your legal rights given the specifics of your crash.

Never hesitate to call the offices of CCD Law if you need legal assistance. You can reach our compassionate car accident attorneys by dialing (509) 926-4900.

CCD Law