Washington State law requires each driver to have auto insurance for any car they drive on Washington’s streets. The minimum requirement for the policy is 25/50/10.
Minimum Washington State Liability Auto Insurance Policy
- $25,000 Bodily Injury: This is liability coverage for any accident caused by the driver.
- $50,000 Bodily Injury: Liability for two or more people injured. If only one person is injured, then the policy will only pay up to $25,000, but if more than one is injured, then the policy will pay up to $50,000.
- $10,000 Property Damage: This is liability for any property damage such as a vehicle or telephone pole, etc.
What if I get Caught Without Insurance?
If you get pulled over by police and are unable to present proof of insurance, then you can be given a ticket for driving without insurance. The penalties for this are:
- $15 Fees (Max)
- $450 Fine (Max)
- Community Service
Accident Without Insurance
If you get into an accident without insurance and the property damage for the accident exceeds $1,000 or there is any injury, then your license can be suspended by the Washington Department of Licensing and you can still be subjected to other fines. Once you meet the requirements for getting your license back, you will have to pay a $75 reinstatement fee.
What if I was Insured but Didn’t’ Have Proof at the Time?
If you received a ticket for no insurance whether you were just pulled over or were in an accident, you can avoid the penalties by providing proof of insurance.
Ticket but no Accident
If you provide proof that you were in fact insured at the time you got pulled over, the court will dismiss your ticket, but you still might be subject to a $25 fee at the discretion of the court.
Accident Without Insurance
If you were in an accident where there was property damage exceeding $1,000 or someone involved in the accident was injured, then the DoL can suspend your license unless you can provide one of the following:
- Proof of insurance in effect at the time of the collision,
- A signed release from everyone involved in the collision indicating they won’t hold you responsible for damages,
- A copy of a written agreement with everyone seeking reimbursement for damages,
- Proof that security in the amount of damages from the collision has been deposited (this option requires proof of financial responsibility or SR-22 insurance certificate), or
- A certified copy of a civil court decision saying you weren’t liable for claims.
Spokane No Insurance Traffic Ticket Lawyer
People go to court all the time without representation, and many times it works out for them. However, when it comes to your license, you might not want to gamble that everything will work out. If you need your car to get to work or you driver for a living, then losing your license can be devastating.
If you did have insurance but didn’t have proof, you can appeal your ticket, but there are deadline requirements and there is the potential of a hearing with the Department of Licensing. If you hire an attorney for this process, you can avoid the stress and the time off work and get the peace of mind that everything will be taken care of.
The attorneys at Crary, Clark, Domanico, & Chuang, P.S are experienced in traffic tickets and driver’s license suspensions. Contact a Spokane Traffic Attorney so you can get peace of mind by clicking here.