Your driver’s license will be suspended 30 days after the date of your arrest unless you submit a request for a hearing on that suspension. The proper form is provided by the Washington State Department of licensing. It must be completed and mailed within seven days of the date of your arrest. The cost for the hearing is $375.The Fine
On a first DUI offense in Spokane County, with no aggravating factors and a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or less, expect to see a fine of $750. With evidence of aggravation and a higher blood alcohol concentration, the fine can go as high as $5,000. The only good news about the amount of a fine that is assessed is that the amount usually includes court costs and other related charges.
Ignition Interlock Device
Research and studies have shown that ignition interlock devices have a great impact on preventing repeat offenses. If you want to drive, you will be required to have one installed on your vehicle. Expect the charge for installing the device to be a minimum of $150. After that, the device requires periodic calibration. That’s about another $150 per trip. You’re even charged to have the device removed from your vehicle. Expect a minimum of another $100 for that. An ignition interlock device can easily cost $1,000 over the course of a year.
Driver’s License Reinstatement
The expense of an ignition interlock device isn’t over yet. There’s a charge of $100 to apply for the device, a $50 probationary license fee and another $20 per month fee for the device. Once you go to get your license reinstated, you’re subject to a $150 reinstatement fee along with a $54 licensing fee.
Towing and Impound Fees
Your vehicle is likely to be towed and impounded at a cost of about $200. The longer that your vehicle sits, the more expensive the impound fees are.
Evaluation and DUI Program
A professional alcohol and drug evaluation must be completed at a cost of about $150. Beware of the businesses that offer free evaluations. They aren’t free. The cost of a Level One class will be about $200. The cost of a Level Two class might go as high as $350. You’ll be required to successfully complete whatever program that your evaluation recommends.
Car insurance premiums for Washington drivers who have been convicted of DUI rise drastically. You’ll see a minimum of a 33 percent increase for at least five years. Think of $3,000 or more.
A DUI or DUID conviction can get in the way of a person’ job and negatively impact educational and housing opportunities. The State of Washington does not want intoxicated or impaired drivers behind the wheel. It’s a simple matter of public safety. After a first DUI or DUID arrest, Washington wants you to remember how painful the experience can be.