According to an article on the CDA Press, a woman on her bicycle was recently hit in a crosswalk right in front of her 8 year old daughter at the intersection of Honeysuckle Avenue and Fourth Street. According to the article, Kootenai County Sheriff’s deputies are still searching for a blue car.
Sometimes drivers with no insurance, a suspended license, or who are driving while intoxicated will flee the scene.
Will the driver go to prison?
According to Idaho statute 18-8007, leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death in Idaho is a felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If the person who allegedly left the scene of this terrible accident is caught it is possible that they will go to prison.
Compensation for the injured
In hit and run accidents like this it is important for injured people to understand that they may be able to file a claim with their own insurance company if they have uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage is optional in Idaho but several people have it on their auto insurance policy and it often covers them even when they are hit on a bicycle. Sometimes their insurance even covers relatives or people with them. If the suspect is never caught, in cases of hit and run the injured would want to try and collect from their own insurance company.
In cases like this the insurer has an obligation to treat you fairly, but if they do not you should contact an Idaho car accident lawyer as quickly as possible. In fact, a free consultation is usually the best route to take even before speaking to insurance companies. Feel free to contact us at any time with questions related to hit and runs in Idaho.